Carrot Cake (valentines edition)

25 Feb

Ok so I maybe a tad late in posting a valentines cake, I’ve just been putting this one off so much, I dunno why. I decided on valentines day I would try bake a cake, the idea popped into my head of a carrot cake since the last one I made tasted amazing but looked so god awful, it was lopsided and wonkey and I used 2 different shaped tins and since now I’ve learnt what not to do when baking one I decided I’d try my skills at baking it again… This time didn’t turn out too bad at all

Ingredients:

  • 450g grated carrots
  • 80ml buttermilk
  • 3 eggs
  • 350ml vegetable oil
  • 420g caster sugar
  • 500g plain flour
  • 2tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 80g pecans (if you like, I only added a few and I doubt i’d add them again)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to  170
  2. Mix together the carrots, buttermilk, eggs, vanilla essences, vegetable oil and sugar until all are well combined.076
  3. Sift together the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate soda, salt and spices.078
  4. Slowly add the dry ingredients into the wet ones ( I added in 3/4 batches to make sure everything mixed well) Then stir in the chopped nuts and make sure everything is mixed well until the cake batter is smooth and even.082
  5. Then pour into prep’d tins ( I only had two the same size so I had to bake in two batches)084
  6. Bake for about 30 minutes or until sponge bounces bake when touched and allow to cool completely before frosting090087

Frosting ingredients:

  • 100g unsalted butter
  • 600g icing sugar
  • 1tbsp of orange zest
  • 250g cream cheese ( I used low fat, not that it makes much difference)

Method:

  1. Mix together butter and sugar until fully combined but still powdery
  2. Add the orange zest and cream cheese and mix until frosting is smooth light and fluffy091

Decorate cake as you see fit, I added some ready rolled icing to mine to try give it a valentines day look ( was my first time using it so I hope that I’ll end up getting better at it in the future. Heres how mine ended up 🙂

093 095 096

Leave a Reply

